Skip to content

Awards for Undergraduates

The Philosophy Department awards several scholarships and prizes each year.

Department Scholarships

Our department distributes around $10,000 in scholarships to several students each year. Scholarships are open to Juniors or Seniors in good standing at UTK who are in the humanities in the College of Arts and Sciences. Preference shall be given (but not limited) to Philosophy majors. The recipient must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and be making satisfactory progress toward a degree. Other things being equal, financial need may be (but need not be) considered in the selection process. A previous recipient may be considered for the award in a successive year.

Scholarship applications will be available in January of 2022 and will be due on April 15, 2022

Essay Prize

The Mark and Inge Moore Undergraduate Philosophy Essay Contest is open to all undergraduate UT students enrolled, full or part time, at the time of the essay’s submission. Essays on any philosophical topic are eligible for entry. Contest participants may submit no more than one entry. Essays are to be no longer than 3500 words or roughly 14 pages of typescript, excluding endnotes and references. The total amount of prize money available in any one year is $500.

Details of the essay contest will be announced in January of 2022 and submissions will be due on April 15, 2022

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.