Skip to content

Faculty

Name Title Areas of Interest Email
Jordan Baker
PhD, University of Tennessee
Teaching Post-doctoral Fellow Metaphysics; Philosophy of Action jbaker53@vols.utk.edu
Nora Berenstain
PhD, University of Texas
Professor Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Feminist Epistemology nberenst@utk.edu
Margaret Bowman
PhD, University of Utah
Lecturer Ethics, Metaethics, Philosophy of Psychology mbowma25@utk.edu
Ginger Clausen
PhD, University of Arizona
Lecturer Ethics and Feminist Philosophy gclausen@utk.edu
E.J. Coffman
PhD, Notre Dame
Professor Epistemology, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion, Action Theory ecoffma1@utk.edu
Adam Cureton
BPhil, Oxford
PhD, UNC Chapel Hill
Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ethics, Kant, Philosophy of Disability adamcureton@utk.edu
Laura M. Cupples
PhD, University of South Carolina
Postdoctoral Teaching Associate

Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Disability, Bioethics, and Feminist Philosophy

lcupples@utk.edu
Allen Dunn
PhD, UCLA
Professor
Department Head
ardunn@utk.edu
Richard Eldridge
PhD, The University of Chicago
Lecturer

Aesthetics and Theory of Criticism, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy and Literature, German Idealism, Wittgenstein, Romanticism

reldrid8@utk.edu
Edward Falls
PhD, University of Tennessee
Postdoctoral Teaching Associate

Metaphysics

efalls1@utk.edu
Alex Feldt
PhD, University of Oklahoma
Distinguished Lecturer Political Philosophy, Ethics afeldt@utk.edu
Georgi Gardiner
PhD, Rutgers University
Assistant Professor Epistemology, Social Philosophy, Legal Philosophy, Philosophical Methodology gardiner@utk.edu
Jon Garthoff
PhD, UCLA
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
Ethical Theory, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind garthoff@utk.edu
Kristina Gehrman
PhD, UCLA
Associate Professor Ethics, Action Theory kgehrma1@utk.edu
Sarah Harper
PhD, Boston College
Senior Lecturer Ethical Theory, Bioethics, Service Learning sharper6@utk.edu
Dan Molter
PhD, University of Utah
Lecturer

Philosophy of Biology, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Religion

molter1@utk.edu
Margaret Moore
PhD, Temple
Lecturer Aesthetics, Philosophy of Music, Philosophy of Mind mmoor114@utk.edu
David Palmer
PhD, University of Texas
Associate Professor Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Action Theory, Ethics dpalmer6@utk.edu
Matthew Pamental
PhD, Indiana University
Senior Lecturer American Philosophy (Dewey), Environmental Ethics, Ethics and Animals pamental@utk.edu
David Reidy
PhD, University of Kansas
JD, Indiana University
Professor Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, History of Ethics, Rawls dreidy@utk.edu
Kevin Ryan
PhD, University of Memphis
Lecturer

Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Performance, and Aesthetics

kryan30@utk.edu
J. Clerk Shaw
PhD, Washington University-St. Louis.
Associate Professor Ancient Philosophy jshaw15@utk.edu
Joe Stratmann
PhD, University of California-San Diego.
Assistant Professor History of Modern Philosophy, Kant jstratma@utk.edu
Mariam Thalos
PhD, University of Illinois, Chicago
Professor Philosophy of Science mthalos@utk.edu
Sam Von Mizner
PhD, University of Tennessee
Senior Lecturer Wittgenstein and 20th Century Analytic philosophy svonmize@utk.edu
Josh Watson
PhD, Purdue University
Senior Lecturer Metaphysics, Early Modern Philosophy jwatso56@utk.edu
Ryan Windeknecht
PhD, Keele University (UK)
Distinguished Lecturer
Experience Learning Faculty Fellow
Political Philosophy rwindekn@utk.edu

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.