Skip to content

Faculty

Name Title Areas of Interest Email
Richard Aquila
PhD, Northwestern
Professor Emeritus history of modern philosophy, Kant and Schopenhauer, Sartre raquila@utk.edu
Jordan Baker
PhD, University of Tennessee
Teaching Post-doctoral Fellow metaphysics; Philosophy of Action jbaker53@vols.utk.edu
Nora Berenstain
PhD, University of Texas
Associate Professor philosophy of science, metaphysics, feminist epistemology nberenst@utk.edu
Ginger Clausen
PhD, University of Arizona
Lecturer ethics and feminist philosophy gclausen@utk.edu
E.J. Coffman
PhD, Notre Dame
Professor
Associate Department Head
epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of religion, action theory ecoffma1@utk.edu
Adam Cureton
B.Phil., Oxford
Ph.D., UNC Chapel Hill
Associate Professor ethics, political philosophy, Kant, philosophy of disability adamcureton@utk.edu
Alex Feldt
PhD, University of Oklahoma
Senior Lecturer political philosophy, ethics afeldt@utk.edu
David Frank
PhD, University of Texas
Lecturer environmental ethics, philosophy of biology, philosophy of social science dfrank4@utk.edu
Georgi Gardiner
Ph.D. Rutgers University
Assistant Professor epistemology gardiner@utk.edu
Jon Garthoff
PhD, UCLA
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
ethical theory, political philosophy, philosophy of mind garthoff@utk.edu
Kristina Gehrman
PhD, UCLA
Assistant Professor Ethics, Action Theory kgehrma1@utk.edu
Sarah Harper
PhD at Boston College (2007)
Lecturer ethical theory, bioethics, service learning sharper6@utk.edu
Nolan Hatley
PhD, University of Tennessee
Lecturer Nietzsche, environmental philosophy ahatley1@utk.edu
Shidan Lotfi
PhD, Florida State University
Senior Lecturer ethics, philosophy of science, philosophy of biology slotfi@utk.edu
Margaret Moore
Ph.D., Temple
Lecturer Aesthetics, Philosophy of Music, Philosophy of Mind mmoor114@utk.edu
Paul Nichols
Ph.D., UCLA
Lecturer   pnichol3@utk.edu
John Nolt
PhD, Ohio State University
Professor logic, environmental philosophy, Nietzsche nolt@utk.edu
David Palmer
PhD, University of Texas
Associate Professor metaphysics, philosophy of mind, action theory, ethics dpalmer6@utk.edu
Matthew Pamental
PhD, Indiana University
Lecturer American Philosophy (Dewey), environmental ethics, ethics and animals pamental@utk.edu
David Reidy
PhD, University of Kansas
JD, Indiana University
Professor political philosophy, philosophy of law, history of ethics, Rawls dreidy@utk.edu
Max Robitzsch
PhD, University of Pennsylvania
Lecturer ancient Greek and Roman Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy jrobitzs@utk.edu
J. Clerk Shaw
PhD, Washington University-St. Louis.
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
ancient philosophy jshaw15@utk.edu
Marlin Sommers
PhD, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  Epistemology, Philosophy of Business msommers2@vols.utk.edu
Mariam Thalos
PhD, University of Illinois, Chicago
Professor
Department Head
  mthalos@utk.edu
Sam Von Mizner
PhD, University of Tennessee
Lecturer Wittgenstein and 20th century Analytic philosophy svonmize@utk.edu
Josh Watson
PhD, Purdue University
Senior Lecturer metaphysics, early modern philosophy jwatso56@utk.edu
Ryan Windeknecht
PhD, Keele University (UK)
Senior Lecturer
Experience Learning Faculty Fellow
political philosophy rwindekn@utk.edu

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.