Skip to content

Ergo | Summer 2012

Graduate Program Updates

With exemplary effectiveness, Richard Aquila continues to oversee our graduate program.

Some highlights:

  • The following students earned their PhD this past year: Matt Deaton, Woods Nash, Karen Smith, Bill Uhl, Greg Bock, Erik Krag, and Court Lewis.
  • Deaton was selected to be a Presidential Management Fellow. Nash is assistant professor of philosophy at Marywood University. Krag has accepted a visiting position as Saginaw Valley State University. Bock is assistant professor of philosophy at Walters State University. Uhl will be returning to teach at the Air Force Academy.
  • Eight students will enter the graduate program this fall; five of the students are female, and two are international. As a group, their average GRE score continue our upward trajectory for each successive entering class.
  • Through the generosity of John Prados and others associated with the Prados Fund that previously supported students in the department’s former medical ethics concentration, the Prados Fund has been repurposed to support an annual summer dissertation fellowship for a PhD student working in value theory. Gavin Enck is the inaugural recipient of the fellowship. He is working on a dissertation on the ethics of cognitive enhancement.
  • Krag, Bock, Todd Burkhardt, Grace Campbell, Joel MacClellan, and Roger Turner all had papers accepted for publication in scholarly venues.
  • Krag presented a paper on the highly selective main program of a meeting of the American Philosophical Association.
  • MacClellan had a paper accepted for presentation on the main program of the impressive and state-of-the-art “Minding Animals” conference in the Netherlands.
  • Under the supervision of Jon Garthoff, the department will launch a dissertation seminar next year to help provide structure and support for students as they write their dissertations.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.