Skip to content

Faculty

Name Title Areas of Interest Email
Richard Aquila
PhD, Northwestern
Professor Emeritus
Interim Co-Head
history of modern philosophy, Kant and Schopenhauer, Sartre raquila@utk.edu
Nora Berenstain
PhD, University of Texas
Assistant Professor philosophy of science, metaphysics, feminist epistemology nberenst@utk.edu
Ginger Clausen
PhD, University of Arizona
Lecturer value theory, philosophy of emotion gclausen@utk.edu
E.J. Coffman
PhD, Notre Dame
Professor
Associate Department Head
epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of religion, action theory ecoffma1@utk.edu
Adam Cureton
B.Phil., Oxford
Ph.D., UNC Chapel Hill
Assistant Professor moral and political philosophy, metaethics, applied ethics, Kant. adamcureton@utk.edu
Alex Feldt
PhD, University of Oklahoma
Lecturer political philosophy, ethics afeldt@utk.edu
David Frank
PhD, University of Texas
Lecturer environmental ethics, philosophy of biology, philosophy of social science dfrank4@utk.edu
Jon Garthoff
PhD, UCLA
Assistant Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
moral and political philosophy, applied ethics, metaphysics garthoff@utk.edu
Kristina Gehrman
PhD, UCLA
Assistant Professor Ethics, Action Theory kgehrma1@utk.edu
Christian Golden
PhD, Georgetown University
Lecturer moral psychology, political philosophy, feminism, existentialism, phenomenology, Nietzsche cgolden8@utk.edu
Alex Hallam
PhD, University of Tennessee
Lecturer epistemology ahallam@vols.utk.edu
Nolan Hatley
PhD, University of Tennessee
Lecturer Nietzsche, environmental philosophy ahatley1@utk.edu
John Kress
PhD, Vanderbilt University
Lecturer ancient philosophy, Heidegger jkress1@utk.edu
Shidan Lotfi
PhD, Florida State University
Lecturer ethics, philosophy of science, philosophy of biology slotfi@utk.edu
Margaret Moore
Ph.D., Temple
Lecturer Aesthetics, Philosophy of Music, Philosophy of Mind mmoor114@utk.edu
John Nolt
PhD, Ohio State University
Professor
Interim Co-Head
logic, environmental philosophy, Nietzsche nolt@utk.edu
David Palmer
PhD, University of Texas
Assistant Professor metaphysics, philosophy of mind, action theory, ethics dpalmer6@utk.edu
Matthew Pamental
PhD, Indiana University
Lecturer American philosophy, Dewey, moral philosophy, philosophy of education pamental@utk.edu
David Reidy
PhD, University of Kansas
JD, Indiana University
Professor political philosophy, philosophy of law, history of ethics, Rawls dreidy@utk.edu
J. Clerk Shaw
PhD, Washington University-St. Louis.
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
ancient philosophy jshaw15@utk.edu
Josh Watson
PhD, Purdue University
Lecturer metaphysics, early modern philosophy jwatso56@utk.edu
Ryan Windeknecht
PhD, Keele University (UK)
Lecturer political philosophy rwindekn@utk.edu

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.